support center

Bulk edit/delete

Close.io lets you easily bulk edit or bulk delete all the leads that appear in a search query or a Smart View. From any search results or Smart View page just click "Bulk Actions" and then "Bulk Edit/Delete".

You'll have the option to make various types of bulk updates to the lead, as well as the option to delete all the leads that match the search query.

Just one final click of the blue button and your specified changes will be made to all of the matching leads. You won't be able to undo the changes!

Bulk edits and deletes are processed one at a time. So if there already is a bulk action being processed in your organization, the new request will be queued until all other edits/deletes are done. You'll receive an email when the bulk request has completed.

How many leads can I bulk edit/delete at a time?

Close.io currently limits you to editing leads in batches of 100,000 leads at a time or less, though there's no limit on how many batches you can submit. If you need to edit/delete more than 100,000 leads then you can break it up into smaller batches by adding a limit search keyword, like this limit: 100000

If you need to bulk edit/delete more than the limit, please email support@close.io.

Why is the number of leads shown with the "~" symbol?

"~" means "approximately". There are a couple reasons why we can't show you the exact number of leads that will be sent emails.

When you submit the Bulk form, you're telling Close.io to "update all leads that appear in this specific search query". The number of leads that you saw when you performed the search could potentially change by the time the leads are finished being updated. This happens in cases where: leads get changed (by a coworker, by an incoming email, by a last updated date, etc.) in such a way that they get added/removed from the results for your query.

Other types of bulk updates | Advanced users

If you need to perform another type of bulk edit or bulk delete in a way that doesn't seem to be supported by the feature described above, please email support@close.io and we can often help (sometimes a fee may apply for custom work). 

Advanced users are welcome to make use of our scripts available on GitHub (this is often what Support would be using anyway, so this is a definite time saver if you are able to handle this directly.) Our API documentation is available at http://developer.close.io/

Reverting bulk lead status edits

While you cannot directly undo any bulk edit or delete, you can revert the changes you made on a bulk lead status change by using Search. By putting together a search query that isolates the leads you changed via a bulk edit, you can then do another bulk edit to change the leads back to their previous state.

For example, let's say you just a completed a bulk edit that changed the lead status of "Bad Fit" leads to "Potential" leads. If you wanted to change their Lead Status back to "Bad Fit" in the same day, a search query like this would isolate those leads: last_lead_status_change_old_status:"Bad Fit" lead_status:Potential last_lead_status_change_date:today

Once you isolate the leads you just changed, just initiate a new bulk edit that changes those leads' Lead Status back to "Potential".

IMPORTANT: This method only works for bulk lead status changes. Once leads are deleted, they are gone.