support center

Email inbox/archive syncing

When you setup 2-way email sync Close.io not only shows relevant emails on your leads, it also keeps your Close.io Inbox in sync with your email account's inbox. It does this by syncing the "inbox" status of email threads.

For example, if you get an email from a lead and then archive that email in your email account, it won't show up in your Close.io Inbox (but it will remain on the lead's timeline). Similarly, once you mark an email as "Done" in Close.io, it will automatically be marked as read and archived in your email account.

The benefit of this is twofold:

  1. Your Close.io and email account's Inbox becomes a concise list containing only emails that are still actionable and haven't yet been handled.
  2. You can work out of either Close.io Inbox or your regular email account, and the changes propagate between the two so you don't waste time seeing emails again in one place that you've handled in another.

If you aren't used to "Archiving" your emails (e.g. in Gmail) once you're done with them, but instead just leave all messages in your Inbox as "read", we'd strongly recommend you try archiving your email messages once you're done with them. This will make Close.io's Inbox better for you, since then you'll have a synced view consisting purely of emails that haven't yet been handled.

Can I stop Close.io from archiving emails in my email account?

If for some reason you do not want Close.io to archive emails in your email account when marking them "Done" in Close.io, you can email us to request that we disable this setting for your account.

Is it possible to archive email in other people's email accounts?

No. We hide the checkboxes and Done/Snooze buttons from Inbox when you're looking at your coworker's Inbox (or have 'All Users' selected), since we thought it would be a bad idea to allow people to archive each other's email, etc.

On the lead page, you should only see the Done button if the email appears in your own Inbox (because you received a copy of that email). Pressing the Done button (from the lead page or in Inbox) will only mark the incoming email as handled for yourself (other recipients will have to handle it from their Inbox separately) and it will only archive it in your own email account.